Saturday, 8 December 2012

Let Your Heart Get Pierced With Arrows

When selecting a diamond, you have many choices and options. Beyond the basic “4 Cs” (carat, color, clarity, cut/shape) used to measure a diamond’s quality, there is another level of excellence and perfection that involves the symmetry and reflective quality of a diamond’s cut - another “C” that affects and potentially enhances all the others.  The cut determines how well a diamond “performs,” how well it reflects light under a variety of lighting conditions and situations. Practically any stone will look impressive under the bright spotlights of a jewelry store, but a rare few have the unique combination of precise cut, shape, and angles to hold their brilliance in more natural lighting situations.

Each Heart and Arrow diamond has 58 facets – each of these including the pavilion main, lower girdle, upper girdle, kite and star facets must be perfectly aligned 180 degrees opposite of each other or there will be a leaking of light and the hearts and arrows pattern will be incomplete, misaligned, faded or distorted in appearance.

To acquire this level of patterning precision the cutter must sacrifice more rough material and put in more time than a regular round or a standard ideal cut requires. Less than 1% of all diamonds are ideal cut and less than 0.1% display hearts and arrows. This places a premium on quality Heart and Arrow diamonds.

The romantic allusions of the intrinsic patterning also make these diamonds highly coveted.  It is highly recommended to certify these diamonds and IGLI is your perfect destination for the 
Diamond Grading report and Certification 

No comments:

Post a Comment